Welcome to Smarden ……………………..

By all written and spoken accounts, Smarden is said to be a Special Place in two senses: first, as a small rural medieval weaving village, it is endowed with great physical beauty and charm. Secondly, Smarden hosts a vibrant community, which wishes to preserve things that are good about its heritage and, for the future, to shape a sustainable environment sensitive to the needs of its residents. With both these things, there seems also to be an underlying sense of continuity.

Image by Emma Leech

To find out more about our village organisations, click on Site Pages

To find out about forthcoming events, click on Events

Council Contacts

This website is run by the Smarden Parish Council whose members are listed below.

Smarden Parish Council Members

Chairman: Mr John Lowings, telephone 01233 770388
Vice Chairman: Mr Mark Wilson, 770528
Members: Mr Brian Bristow, 770564
  Mrs Jocelyn Craig, 770845
  Mrs Sarah Ellison, 770594
  Mrs Gill Bromley, 770451
  Mr Pete Watts, 770122
  Mr Clifford Ridley, 770574
  Mrs Kathy Wilson, 770144
  Mr John Atkins, 770736
Parish Clerk: Catherine Stanley, clerk@smardenpc.kentparishes.gov.uk

Elected Members

Ashford Borough Council: Mrs Geraldine Dyer 770213
Kent County Council: Mr Charlie Simkins