Welcome to Smarden ..........................

By all written and spoken accounts, Smarden is said to be a Special Place in two senses: first, as a small rural medieval weaving village, it is endowed with great physical beauty and charm. Secondly, Smarden hosts a vibrant community, which wishes to preserve things that are good about its heritage and, for the future, to shape a sustainable environment sensitive to the needs of its residents. With both these things, there seems also to be an underlying sense of continuity.

Image by Emma Leech         



 To find out more about our village organisations, click on Site Pages

To find out about forthcoming events, click on Diary Dates

Council Contacts

This website is run by the Smarden Parish Council whose members are listed below.

Smarden Parish Council Members

Chairman:                           Mr John Lowings, telephone 01233 770388

Vice Chairman:                   Mr Mark Wilson, 770528
Members:                           Mr Brian Bristow, 770564
                                           Mr Martin Brooks, 770426 
                                           Mrs Sarah Ellison, 770594
                                           Mrs Marion Hudson, 770345
                                           Mr David Luckhurst, 770676
                                           Mr Clifford Ridley, 770574
                                           Mrs Kathy Wilson, 770144

Parish Clerk:       Catherine Stanley, clerk@smardenpc.kentparishes.gov.uk        

Elected Members:
Ashford Borough Council:     Mrs Geraldine Dyer 770213
Kent County Council:            Mr Charlie Simkins







Page last updated: Saturday 22 February 2014